How to consolidate snapshots in vSphere 5.x/6.x (2003638)

This article describes how to consolidate snapshots in vSphere 5.x/6.x when virtual machine disk consolidation is required.

When you initiate a Delete or DeleteAll operation on snapshots, the snapshot is immediately deleted from Snapshot Manager and then the backing virtual machine disk .vmdk files are consolidated on-disk. If the consolidation fails, some virtual disk files may remain on disk and/or be actively used in the datastore, consuming storage capacity.

Checking if virtual machine consolidation is required

To check if virtual machine consolidation is required:

  1. Select a vCenter Server host or a cluster and click the Virtual Machines tab.
  2. Right-click the menu bar for any virtual machine column and click Needs Consolidation. The Needs Consolidation column appears.
    • A Yes status indicates that the snapshot files for the virtual machine should be consolidated and that the virtual machine’s Tasks and Events tab shows a configuration problem.

      Note: A Configuration Issue warning is also displayed in the Summary tab of the virtual machine indicating that virtual machine disk consolidation is needed.

    • A No status indicates that the files are correct. In this case, no snapshots exist, no consolidation is required, and no extra disk space is consumed.

Consolidating snapshots for a virtual machine

Note:
  • The remove snapshot process can take a long time to complete if the snapshots are large.
  • Do not interrupt Snapshot consolidation. Interrupting the process can irretrievably corrupt the vDisk(s) being consolidated.
  • Virtual machine performance may be degraded during the snapshot consolidation process.
To consolidate snapshots:
  1. Right-click the virtual machine and click Snapshot > Consolidate.
  2. Check the Needs Consolidation column to verify that the task succeeded.
    For more information, see Consolidate Snapshots in the vSphere Web Client.

    If the task succeeds, the Configuration Issues message clears and the Needs Consolidation value is No.

Note: The consolidate option allows you to consolidate the delta disks to the base disk when there are no snapshots shown in the Snapshot Manager. It does not fix the underlying issue that may have caused the issue initially.

for More information please check the below KB.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s